He Knows My Name

I’ve been thinking a lot recently about the spiritual significance of naming children.

With Lisa, our new staff member here to help, we’ve been getting more organized. One of the things we’re doing is creating a file for each child, “club cards,” for each kid, and a visual schedule. Right now we are providing focused clubs for over 30 children!

When we talk about children at risk, so often we speak in statistics, and we get overwhelmed by it. The problem is so huge, so we create categories and labels, such as “street kids,” etc. But in the process, children lose their names.

So we’re taking the opposite approach – looking closely at each child, naming them and bringing value.

It’s interesting because the very day Lisa and I were making club cards, my friend and mentor here in Costa Rica, sent me a message. She emailed me this article, They Call Me Street Child, saying,

“This made me think of you. One of the most powerful aspects of your work is the naming and knowing of children.”

Will you watch this short video? I know it’s an old song, but it just keeps re-playing over and over in my head. It’s like each child keeps passing before my eyes and I lift him or her to the Father. As each photo and name passes before your eyes, lift him up. With your prayers place each child in the arms of God.

He knows each name, each tear, and hears each cry. This is the message we want to go deeply into the heart of each child.

I have a Maker
He formed my heart
Before even time began
My life was in his hands

He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear that falls
and He hears me when I call
I have a Father
He calls me His own
He?ll never leave me
No matter where I go

He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear that falls
and He hears me when I call

One Response to He Knows My Name

  1. Natasha says:

    Leslie – such beautiful posts and beautiful work you and Scott are doing. Thinking of you both, thinking of the kids you know, and sending love and prayers your way.

Leave a Reply

