Teaching

Scott and I were honored and privileged to be able to share with the YWAM Tijuana/Baja Children at Risk School this past month. What a special group of students and staff. It was so encouraging to spend time with them.

We are amazed at just how much connecting you can really do over a skype teaching. It felt very intimate and real. We were so blessed to get to spend time with these people.

And we were delighted to see some responses to our teachings posted on the children at risk school website! How cool is that? Ever wonder what our teachings are like, what students think of it and what they take away from it? Well, now you can see for yourself…

Who He is, and Who That Means We Should Be

This week, week four, we had Scott Freeman teaching us on skype. Him and his wife Leslie used to lead the Children at Risk School and are now living in Jaco, Costa Rica reaching out to the families and kids in that community. They have four boys and have such an incredible love for children at risk, as well as their own kids. Scott lead us into a week of seeking out God’s nature and character, and in turn knowing the characteristics we should seek to know and share with the kids and families we will work with. Here are some writings to give you a glimps of the week:

“Kind of going along with that, I liked what Scott said about our hearts being in the right place when we are doing these things “for God” . We were reading in Isaiah how God said He was weary of the people’s burnt offerings. Their motivations were still selfish. They were just being religious not serving or sacrificing out of a place of true love or worship. So why do christians repel non-believers today? Well I think I’ve already stated the answer. Scott gave us an awesome quote from Dan Allander that says “God commanded his people to offer burnt offerings, and then said, ‘They make me sick.’ He wants us to live with a heart of passion for justice – period. Religious deeds, be it prayer, fasting, giving, sacrifice, song, or dance, turn God’s stomach when we do them without a heart for righteousness. And living out righteousness is no less than creating a holy, beautiful, sacred space for glory to grow. God doesn’t give us a to-do list; instead he calls our hearts to holiness and justice.” So I know for myself, I don’t want to serve the homeless or love the orphans in Mexico just to clear my conscience. I don’t want to just do a short term mission trip to check it off my list. I want to stop and buy the guy sitting outside the gas station hungry something to eat even if it means arriving late somewhere. I want to have a conversation and listen to the “crazy woman” in downtown Tijuana babbling because she just wants to be heard. I want to play a silly game with a neglected little girl at church even if it disturbs the service. I want to make a better effort so that the people in my life whether it’s my friends, family, man, woman, or child on the street feel like that take presidence over everything going on in the moment I am engaging with them-just like my Daddy would do.”- Michelle

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

“I feel a little challenged by how he said people and things dont make us angry we CHOOSE to be angry, its all chose so we cant blames others for our actions. Because alot of the time i think in my head “they make me so angry” when really i am just choosing to be angry, even if they are provoking me. So ill be praying an working on that.”- Leah

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

“I think one of my favourite things would be that Scott showed us that God is so faithful to fill the bible with people who basically screw up, make mistakes and lack faith! So many characters in the bible made mistakes but chose to walk with God. I loved that even Abraham, the Father of our Faith, lacked faith sometimes and made some really interesting decisions. It is interesting (and somewhat relieving!) that though God made a clear promise to Abraham to make him a great nation he still took things into his own hands, “assisted God” and had Ishmael. Classic case of thinking we know better than God! But still God was with Abraham and for Abraham and he did have a child with his wife Sarah. He still sought God and that is what I I must remember. Just seek God.

And I believe this is what I need to keep in mind and in my heart in life and ministry. If I can just keep my eyes on God and keep coming back to him then I can do all things through him who gives me strength. I can share my burdens and he will help take the load so that I can cope and keep going – when I am doing it all with him. It is a process but I am excited about how it will change my mind and perspective, my relationship with God. I am excited to see how this also effects the way I interact with my husband, my children, my family and all people in life. It is going to be amazing to see what a difference this will make and what I can do when God is my strength…”- Korrin

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

“One thing that I had never thought of before was that God has put something in each of us for His pleasure…. and while we do this He delights in us, He dances and smiles over us…. this could be things like running, or drawing or dancing…. Thinking of this makes me smile. One of the first things that popped into my head when we talked about this is “He delights in me when I draw”. I have on the rare occasion picked up a pencil to draw something I see before me. I really enjoy doing this. It’s something I have wanted to develop and came prepared with a small sketch pad and pencils.

This quote got me thinking “Selfishness suffers when it cannot get what it wants. Love suffers when it cannot give it wants” God is love and we looked at Scriptures of how God is grieved when we don’t respond to His love, when we choose things over Him. Hosea 11:8 “… His compassion is stirred…” Mediation time! Am I embracing God’s love fully? I need to Let God love me and let that be an expression through my life.”- Rochelle

See the original post here: http://childrenatriskschool.wordpress.com/2012/02/07/who-he-is-and-who-that-means-we-should-be/

And Leslie’s Teaching,

We Are Getting More….

Development was our focus this week as we looked at how children grow, and how they learn. How do they develop trust, understanding, and a healthy idea of what is love and how to respond in love? Leslie Freeman walked us through Child Development during this week and really challenged us to, plainly said, “Get it.” Below are some of those thoughts that the students grabbed.

“Keeping that in mind, sided with the children we minister to weekly, I found the statement “ Children need love most when they appear to deserve it least” resounding in my mind. This is just as true for adults.”- Jodie

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

“There will always be things in our lives which we will regret and I think this is especially felt on any level with my parenting as I love my children so much. My greatest desire is for them to grow into fully mature, God loving, kind, compassionate, considerate, accepting, joyful, thoughtful, courageous, resilient, personable, creative, imaginative, confident men who love life and others around them. And this week I have been reminded that I am a massive part of this process. Even now at 2, 5 and 7 years, the best way for my children to see how to live to their potential is to see myself living and striving to my potential. Powerful stuff! Challenging!”- Korrin

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
“The first stage we looked at was a healthy attachment between a child and their primary caregiver. I didn’t understand any of this before and now I realize how critical it is that I do. Healthy attachment is fundamental to the rest of a child’s development. This attachment provides a sense of security. When this need is met explorative behavior begins as they are not so preoccupied with attachment. Out of a secure attachment as an infant a child will also be more resilient, and independent. Children who don’t have this need met can get stuck.
It’s automatically assumed, and I am guilty of that too, that a demanding child is a spoiled children. When in fact, they could just be children whose needs aren’t being met, so they try to meet their own needs…. To think, that out of their attachment relationship a child develops his / her internal view of themselves which they will carry through life. Wow!”- Rochelle

See the original post here: http://childrenatriskschool.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/we-are-getting-more/

Leave a Reply

