Too Much Emotion

I just want to quickly share a little story that is sticking with me. A brief moment in time, but so touching, so telling. So many questions left unanswered.

A teenage boy living on the streets played with a train set for hours

We’ve made contact with a little group of wandering street kids. They’ve run away from social services and are sleeping on the streets. This is a very dangerous situation – I won’t get into all the details, except to say that they’ve been coming to our program. These tough, street smart kids come in and we see their guard come down. They feel safe and they play like small children.

We’ve been praying and trying to figure out what we can do for them. They run away when placed in an orphanage, and they run from their home. Legally, we cannot provide them a place to sleep without permission from the government. But what we can provide is friendship and love and hopefully build some trust and gain some influence in their lives. Maybe encourage them to choose a better path. So that’s what we’ve been doing.

The youngest one is 12, but he looks about 8. He comes into our home and we can clearly see that he loves to be with our family. I was walking into the kitchen and passed by this tough little boy and he reached up and gave me the biggest hug. I stood there in the middle of the room just hugging him. And he didn’t let go. So I didn’t either. I swayed a little bit and rubbed his back. He just stood there hanging on. I could feel the tears springing up in my eyes as I hugged this little boy, determined not to let go until he did. He finally released and smiled up at me.

I tried to act calm as I walked into the kitchen. Aimee, an intern who’s helping our family was there and we made eye contact. Her eyes were teary as well. “That’s just too much emotion right there,” Aimee said. I felt overwhelmed by it too.

Pray for these boys, please. There is not an easy solution here. But we will keep seeking until God makes it clear what we are to do. In the meantime, we’ll keep loving them, hugging them and hoping that these small things will somehow make an impact.

One Response to Too Much Emotion

  1. heidileonard says:

    tears springing here too….blessings on your continued journey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

