More valuable than birds

One thing God challenged me with when we arrived in Costa Rica three years ago was to always extend hospitality.   So it’s something I’ve always tried to be faithful to, no matter our budget, and no matter how short we are – to always offer, food, drink or whatever I have to any guests in my house at any time.  Well, we have a pretty busy household that’s often full of people, and there have been evenings I’ve fed 9 – 10 people or more on the spur of the moment.  Incredibly, those become the cherished moments in our lives. 

Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it.  Hebrews 13:2

Things have been pretty tight financially lately.  This month in particular I’ve just been noticing the Lord providing in the most unusual and surprising ways!  It’s important to stop, reflect and share these small miracles of life.  For instance, while cleaning out some books I found $20.  That same week Scott found $20 in the pocket of some shorts.  Our students, who are missionaries themselves, surprised us with an offering of $100.  Then on Saturday a mysterious pizza was delivered at our doorstep for lunch!  And now, I was just sitting here, browsing the empty fridge and thinking about buying groceries, when my neighbor pops in with a hot dish of lunch for the whole family.  Isn’t that just incredible?  I feel the Lord encouraging me to trust in Him, continue to be generous and put worry or fear aside. 

Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds!   Luke 12:24

Leslie

Leave a Reply

