Kai’s First Black Eye

A Cultural Experience…

One of the things I love about the little school on the corner that Kai and Ezzy attend is how loving the teachers are.  It is truly evident that they really care for the children.  They end each day with a “besito” (kiss) and say “I love you.”  I know that my boys are loved there, and to me that is the most important thing.  

Kais first day of school in 2007, he is loved!

Kai's first day of school in 2007, he is loved!

Fast forward to Sunday night –  Kai and Ezra were running around before bed.  Next thing we knew they ran right into each other; Kai was going full speed.  Ezra went flying, but Kai was the one crying and clutching his eye.  We knew he was in some serious pain.  He cried for maybe a minute or two, then whimpered.  His eye was immediately purple and started swelling up.  We got him some ice, evaluated the situation – it looked like a bruise, nothing broken, and the pain was not that serious.  He was playing again in no time and we had to work hard to keep ice on it, because he had already lost interest! 

Kais first black eye!  What a stud

Kai's first black eye! What a stud

Monday morning arrived and we got the boys ready for school as usual.  Scott dropped them off and headed to the YWAM base, I was home with Jude.  Within about 40 minutes of dropping the boys off I got a call at home from the boys school.   It was Kai’s teacher.  She informed me that upon seeing Kai’s eye they called the paramedics.  An ambulance showed up at the school and they inspected Kai’s injury.  The teacher said we needed to pick him up immediately and take him to the hospital!!!

Hmmm… I called Scott to see if he could pick Kai up, and he did.  The teachers met him at the gate, full of concern.  One teacher was crying.  Scott informed them that he would take Kai home, but he would not take him to the hospital.  He said he grew up in a house of 4 boys and they got hurt all the time, and Kai was fine.  (All of this communication is of course in Spanish!)  They were all deeply shocked and very upset and concerned.   I am sure they think we are the most horrible parents.   Kai was a little confused about everything that happened and all the attention.  As we sat at home eating sandwiches, I told him I was sorry all that happened to him.  He told me it was ok and reassured me, “They weren’t trying to kill me or anything, they were just looking at my eye.”  Phew.  Good to know.  I asked him if his eye hurt and he told me no, it didn’t hurt, “Unless I push real hard on it.”   So I enjoyed my time with Kai at home and put more ice on it.  The swelling went down and it’s just a bruise now.  He went to the school today and the teachers did realize that he is fine.  One even apologized to us.  Really, the situation is so comical to me!  But overall I just think the teachers are so sweet, even if they did overreact just a little!

2 Responses to Kai’s First Black Eye

  1. Annie says:

    What a funny story!

  2. Rachael says:

    WOW! What an experience!!! Glad your sweet boy is okay. 🙂

Leave a Reply

