They Call Her “Demon Child”

She was writhing and thrashing her body around on the floor of the library.

“See, See!” The other kids shouted. “She’s demonic!!” At their shouting she just thrashed even more.

“She’s full of demons!” They continued on.

I picked up the thrashing child, she’s four years old, cute as a button with a streak of wild determination. I sat her on my lap and asked her to look me in the eyes.

“You are not a demon child.” I said loudly for all the kids to hear. “You are a precious child of God. You are a beautiful daughter of God.”

I had to just say that out loud for all to hear. She calmed down and rested in my lap.

How many times has she been called this? And how often? And how can I put an end to this?

As soon as we pull up to the park she runs as fast as she can to the swings. She loves to swing.

She swings so high! She’s only four, but she’s so brave, she’s fearless. She loves the feeling of soaring through the air, higher and faster.

And the answer to the question above, how to put an end to the children calling her demonic? I sure don’t have all the answers, but this is what we will do:  continue loving, showing love, bringing joy, speaking life. And some conversations, heart to heart, hearing from the children and what they think being demonic means, listening to them, to their fears and concerns. Prayer and hugs. The things we do each and every day. We just keep going. That’s what we do.

“Dear friends, let us continue to love one another, for love comes from God. Anyone who loves is a child of God and knows God.” 1 John 4:7

A friend sent me this song today, just to encourage me to keep on loving these kids. Thank you for that, you know who you are. Your message meant everything to me today.

All my love,

Leslie

One Response to They Call Her “Demon Child”

  1. Michelle C says:

    :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

